Top AI Research PhD Programs: A Researcher's Guide
Twenty programs across the US, UK, Europe, Canada, and Asia — real program structure, admission statistics where they're actually public (most aren't), faculty links, and funding, verified through direct research rather than copied from a rankings list. Where a number couldn't be confirmed, this article says so instead of guessing.
Why "Top" Is Contested
Ask for a ranking of AI PhD programs and you'll get a different answer depending on whether the source counts publications (CSRankings.org), surveys department reputations (US News), or just repeats whichever list a previous article cited. This piece skips the single-number ranking entirely and instead reports what's actually verifiable per program: how the degree is structured, whether admission numbers are public, who the current faculty are, and how funding works — the things you'd actually need to know to apply, not a league-table position.
CSRankings, Briefly
CSRankings.org is purely publication-metrics-based: it counts faculty publications appearing in a curated list of the most selective conferences per subfield, with each paper's credit split among its faculty co-authors only — student co-authors don't dilute or add institutional credit the way they would on a naive per-author count. This is explicitly designed to be harder to game than a reputation survey or a raw citation count, though the exact credit-splitting mechanics are worth checking directly against the CSRankings GitHub repository before quoting a precise formula. It's a genuinely different measurement than US News' reputation-survey approach, and the two rankings disagree meaningfully — worth knowing before treating either as "the" ranking.
United States
| Program | Structure | Admission Stats | Faculty / Funding |
|---|---|---|---|
| Stanford (SAIL) | AI is a concentration within the general Stanford CS PhD, not a separate degree HIGH | Not publicly disclosed MEDIUM | Faculty: ai.stanford.edu/faculty. GRE not required; funded stipend+tuition standard HIGH |
| MIT (CSAIL) | CSAIL is a lab; students are admitted via EECS HIGH | ~4,400 applications for the 2025 cycle, EECS-wide HIGH | Faculty directory: csail.mit.edu/research/all-groups. Standardly funded MEDIUM |
| CMU | A genuinely separate, dedicated Machine Learning Department PhD, distinct from the general CS PhD HIGH | Not publicly disclosed for the PhD (a commonly-cited "4%" figure is for CMU's Master's in ML, not the PhD — don't conflate) MEDIUM | J. Zico Kolter (department head) — faculty page. GRE optional and explicitly not a disadvantage; no GPA cutoff used HIGH |
| UC Berkeley (BAIR) | BAIR is a lab; degree is the EECS PhD HIGH | Not publicly disclosed currently; only dated (2011/2018) third-party figures around 3% exist and shouldn't be treated as current MEDIUM | Faculty directory: bair.berkeley.edu/faculty. Standardly funded MEDIUM |
| Princeton | AI is one of three core breadth areas (with Systems and Theory) in the general CS PhD HIGH | Official annual metrics exist at program-metrics, but current CS-specific numbers weren't extracted here — check the live table MEDIUM | ~15% of Princeton grad students university-wide get full fellowships, ~85% get some aid (not CS-specific) MEDIUM |
| U. Washington (Allen School) | General Allen School PhD HIGH | Over 3,000 applications in a recent cycle, average admit GPA ~3.8 MEDIUM | GRE "no longer required or accepted... will not be reviewed even if submitted" HIGH |
| Cornell | General CS PhD, competency required across four core areas including AI HIGH | Not publicly disclosed for CS specifically MEDIUM | Standard fully-funded CS PhD assumed, not explicitly confirmed MEDIUM |
| UT Austin | General CS PhD, ML/DL/NLP among research areas HIGH | Not publicly disclosed for the PhD (undergraduate CS admit rates ~5-8% exist but are a different, unrelated program) MEDIUM | Standard fully-funded CS PhD assumed MEDIUM |
UK & Europe
| Program | Structure | Admission Stats | Faculty / Funding |
|---|---|---|---|
| Oxford | DPhil in Computer Science; AI-specific funded routes via CDTs (e.g. Fundamentals of AI, AIMS) HIGH | Official divisional admissions stats exist, but no single clean DPhil acceptance rate HIGH that data exists / not found for one clean number | Home-fee DPhil applicants automatically considered for funding; named schemes include Oxford–Google DeepMind Graduate Scholarships and Clarendon Scholarships HIGH |
| Cambridge (MLG) | The well-known Machine Learning Group PhD track is administratively in the Department of Engineering, not Computer Science — a genuine structural nuance HIGH | Not publicly disclosed; the group reportedly can't admit many qualified, even funded, candidates due to volume MEDIUM | Zoubin Ghahramani, Carl Edward Rasmussen, Richard Turner, José Miguel Hernández-Lobato, Adrian Weller among MLG faculty — mlg.eng.cam.ac.uk MEDIUM |
| UCL (Gatsby Unit) | Distinctive 4-year MPhil/PhD combining ML and computational neuroscience — not a standard CS PhD HIGH | Not publicly disclosed | "Full funding is available regardless of nationality" — stated explicitly on the official FAQ HIGH |
| ETH Zurich | PhD via individual departments; AI coordinated cross-departmentally via the ETH AI Center (140+ professorships across 16 departments), a funding/affiliation mechanism not a separate degree HIGH | Professor-sponsorship-first model; a single admit-rate number isn't very meaningful here MEDIUM | Doctoral students are standardly salaried employees (Swiss university norm) MEDIUM |
| EPFL (EDIC) | EDIC — a unified CS doctoral program covering AI, theory, systems, ~80 affiliated faculty HIGH | Described only as "very competitive," no numeric rate found | "Financial support in the form of a salary is available to all admitted PhD students" — stated explicitly HIGH |
| MPI-IS (Tübingen) | Doctoral students enroll via IMPRS-IS, a partnership with Tübingen and Stuttgart — no standalone MPI degree; also a distinct Cambridge–Tübingen Fellowship and the Max Planck ETH Center for Learning Systems HIGH | Not publicly disclosed; institute-wide "100+ faculty, 400 enrolled students" cited MEDIUM | Standard German Max Planck doctoral positions are salaried, not stipend-based MEDIUM |
| U. Amsterdam (AMLab) | Dutch model: Master's first, then employed as a PhD researcher within AMLab HIGH | Not publicly disclosed | Max Welling, Jan-Willem van de Meent (director), Herke van Hoof among AMLab faculty MEDIUM. Dutch PhDs are standardly salaried employee contracts MEDIUM |
Canada
| Program | Structure | Admission Stats | Faculty / Funding |
|---|---|---|---|
| U. Toronto | General CS PhD; many ML faculty are also Vector Institute affiliates/CIFAR AI Chairs — an affiliation model, not a separate degree HIGH | Explicitly not publicly disclosed, per a source noting Toronto is among the programs that don't release this data MEDIUM | Vector Institute: ~143 faculty/affiliates (38 CIFAR AI Chairs) as of 2023 MEDIUM |
| Mila / U. Montréal | Students register through their supervisor's home university (UdeM's DIRO, McGill, Polytechnique, or HEC Montréal) — Mila is the research umbrella, not the degree-granting body; a supervisor pre-agreement is required before applying HIGH | Not publicly disclosed | Typically funded via supervisor grants/institute funding MEDIUM |
| U. Alberta (Amii) | General Computing Science PhD, RL research concentrated via the Amii affiliation HIGH | Not publicly disclosed; described qualitatively as very competitive MEDIUM | Martha White — Canada Research Chair in RL, faculty page HIGH. RL-lab students typically fully funded as RAs MEDIUM |
Asia
| Program | Structure | Admission Stats | Faculty / Funding |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tsinghua (College of AI) | Dedicated College of AI; first-year PhDs rotate 3–6 months through multiple supervisors' groups before settling HIGH | Planned to admit 50 PhD students in 2025, per the official page (a target, not necessarily final admits) HIGH | Andrew Chi-Chih Yao (Turing Award laureate) leads the College HIGH |
| Peking University | General CS PhD, open to master's-holders and some direct bachelor's-to-PhD applicants HIGH | Not publicly disclosed | 109 faculty (56 professor/researcher-level, incl. 7 Academicians, 4 Chair Professors). "All students admitted... will receive full financial support, including tuition and monthly stipend" — stated explicitly HIGH |
| NUS (School of Computing) | General PhD (by Research), AI as one research area among several HIGH | Not publicly disclosed | Research Scholarships: monthly stipend + full tuition subsidy, renewable up to 4 years, plus a S$500/month top-up after passing the qualifying exam — stated explicitly HIGH |
| KAIST | Advisor-first model: applicants must name one specific faculty member as desired advisor at application time, including for the Kim Jaechul Graduate School of AI HIGH | Not publicly disclosed | Tuition waiver + monthly stipend standard; College-of-Engineering-wide average stipend cited over 1.7M KRW/month (not AI-School-specific) MEDIUM |
Admissions Reality Check
Program vs. Advisor
Every admissions page that says anything specific about what it's looking for says some version of the same thing: fit with a specific lab matters more than the institution's overall reputation. That's consistent with what the study stack article and the AI Researcher Atlas both point at from different angles — the person you'd actually work with under matters more than the name on the diploma.